Tags

, , , , ,

When we bought our house, we also inherited a lot of random wood and building materials.  At first we thought it would be a burden, but we quickly learned that old wood is really awesome if you know how to use it!

I really wanted a place for everything for our entry.  I was tired of small piles of “stuff” littering the kitchen entry.  I just wanted everything to have it’s own place – making things easier to find and more organized.

How to entry storage

It wasn’t super easy at first.  The shutter and the cabinet door wasn’t the same height so I had to add a piece of wood and make a lip for the chalk.  I also had a hard time with the metal basket – it took me a while to find the right piece and I had to cut and reconfigure it a bit to make it sit right.

organizing system has just the right amount of room for the everyday items you need most

I painted the shutter and door blue, then a couple coats of white and a little sandpaper revealed the blue with a pretty distressed look.

I love it!  I really would like to duplicate the look for my pantry closet with cork board or a magnet board so I can keep track of upcoming events and invites.  To come…one thing at a time!

