Tags

, , , , ,

There….I said it.

Do I feel better?  Not really.

I’ve lived in Lexington since December, been to probably 5 or 6 different groceries (Meyer, WalMart, multiple Krogers, Target….you name it!) and I still can’t find the right one for me.

Seems like such a silly thing to fuss over, right?  Well, like I said.  I’m a grocery snob.

I’m the grocery patron who picks up 7 heads of garlic before I find the right one.  I know exactly what I’m looking for.  I’ve tested different brands and have my favorites.  I only like to buy antibiotic and steroid free poultry and grass fed beef. I bring my own grocery bags.

It’s ok – I know what you’re thinking and I totally embrace it.  OCD? Maybe.

I lived in Atlanta long enough for it to be our home and made the most amazing discovery: The Dekalb Farmer’s Market.

Most people associate a farmer’s market with an outdoor, once-a-week thing.  This wasn’t like that at all.  It was situated a 20 minute drive from downtown, in a large open warehouse and full to the brim with every type of produce you can imagine exists.

What I drooled over:

  • Produce told you where it was from (Mexico? CA? Georgia? You knew!)
  • Prices varied based on supply – sometimes organic was cheaper than the alternative
  • All poultry was antibiotic and steroid free and from $0.99/lb!
  • They had grass fed beef…for $5.99/lb!
  • All the pastries and granola was made on-site and from organic ingredients
  • The price were unreal.  Literally.

I would come home with bags and bags of produce that would last a full week of meals and spend $60

It was HEAVEN.

Between the move, the holidays, the new job….I’ve fallen off my healthy wagon and hardly cook anymore.  I even forgot a very important chili ingredient! CHILI!  C’mon, that’s the easiest thing in the book.

Now that we’re settled in the new digs and I’ve got all of my cooking tools back at my finder tips, I’m jumping back in.

So here’s my plan: I’m starting an organic garden.  Herbs, tomatoes, cucumbers, squash, jalapeños, potatoes? – maybe.   It’s on.  Which brings me to my next goal…

I’m learning how to compost.

I’m turning over a new leaf.  Let’s see how this goes!

 

 

